ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (2007 To 2024)

T20 World Cup Winner List

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup also known as ICC World T20 is an international championship of T20 international cricket. The T20 World Cup is organized by the International Cricket Council. ICC organizes this tournament once every two years. ICC has organized T20 World Cup 6 times. The seventh season has just started.

Actually the seventh edition of the tournament was supposed to be hosted by Australia in 2020 but due to the outbreak of the pandemic, it was later decided that the tournament could be held in India but due to COVID-19, the tournament was postponed and the ICC decided. Match management in the United Arab Emirates. Currently there are 16 teams in T20 World Cup.

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List

It was back in 2007 when the International Cricket Council (ICC) introduced a new ICC title. It was the ICC T20 World Cup. Since then, six editions have been played and as many as five different teams have won the ICC World Twenty20 title. India, Pakistan, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka all lifted the coveted trophy. But West Indies are the only team to have won twice.
The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was scheduled to be played in October 2020 in Australia. However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, it was postponed until 2021. Thus, the next T20 World Cup will be held in October 2021. Place in India. In this article, we will look back at all six editions and focus on each team that won the respective ICC World T20.

T20 World Cup Winners List

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the international championship organized by the ICC in the shortest format of cricket. The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was also known as the ICC World T20. Currently, 16 teams are participating in the tournament and are selected based on their ICC T20 rankings. England Cricket Board (ECB) marketing manager Stuart Robertson was the first person to suggest T20 cricket in England. After the overwhelming success of the local competition, the International Cricket Council (ICC) agreed to host the World Cup every two years. Thus, the first edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was played in 2007.

In 2007, India defeated Pakistan in the inaugural season of the T20 World Cup tournament played in South Africa. ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is the international championship of T20 cricket, the game is one of the most popular and famous games, currently, there are 16 teams in the World Cup where the top ten teams from the ranking in the given time frame are compromised and remain. Six teams have been selected through the T20 World Cup Qualifiers. So check the list of ICC T20 World Cup winners, runners-up and hosts from 2007 to 2024 below.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners & Runner Up

T20 WC Edition Host Winner Runner Up Venue
2007 South Africa India Pakistan Johannesburg
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka London
2010 West Indies England Australia Bridgetown
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka Colombo
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Dhaka
2016 India West Indies England Kolkata
2020 Australia Postponed Postponed Melbourne
2021 India Australia New Zealand Dubai

ICC T20 World Cup Winners List (2007 To 2024)

First T20 World Cup Winner: India in 2007 (vs Pakistan)

India had a very young squad with MS Dhoni as a captain and Sachin Tendulkar and Sourav Ganguly rested. The match was between India and Pakistan which India won by 5 runs and the tournament was held in South Africa. The teams were divided into 4 groups of 3 teams, where India won against Pakistan and they reached the semi-finals after defeating South Africa and England. India defeated Australia in the semi-final and Pakistan in the final to win their first T20I.

2009 T20 World Cup Winner: Pakistan (vs Sri Lanka)

Pakistan overcame the disappointment of losing their previous final to India to lift the prestigious T20 title for the first time in 2009. In the final they defeated Sri Lanka by eight wickets. Tillakaratne Dilshan was the highest run-getter in this edition with 317 runs and Umar Gul was again the highest wicket-taker with 13 scalps.

2010 T20 World Cup Winner: England (vs Australia)

England won the T20 World Cup 2010. As a result, England became the first non-Asian team to win the T20 World Cup in 2010. England beat opponents Australia by 7 wickets in the final of the Ashes. The English team lost their first game to the West Indies, but they won all the subsequent games and captured the trophy. Winning team’s Kevin Pietersen was named Player of the Series in T20 World Cup 2010.

2012 T20 World Cup Winner: West Indies (vs Sri Lanka)

West Indies won their first T20 World Cup in 2012 defeating hosts Sri Lanka by 36 runs in the title clash. West Indies also lost the first match of ICC T20 World Cup 2012 against Australia and still won the trophy. In this World Cup, Australia’s Shane Watson became the player of the series and highest run scorer and Sri Lanka’s Ajanta Mendis became the highest wicket taker.

2014 T20 World Cup Winner: Sri Lanka (vs India)

In 2014, it was Bangladesh’s turn to host the T20 World Cup. It was the first time that there was a group stage between the qualifiers before the main tournament started with the top teams. Sri Lanka opened the tournament with a nervy five-run win before beating the Netherlands.

However, they had a hiccup against England as they failed to defend 190. They were bowled out for 119 in a must-win game against New Zealand but Rangana Herath’s five-wicket haul helped Sri Lanka bowl out for 60 runs.

2016 T20 World Cup Winner : West Indies (vs England)

In 2016, India hosted the T20 World Cup for the first time and again it was a 16-team tournament, West Indies won the semi-final against India and the match was against England and they were both playing for their second finals and though by some miracle West Indies won by 4 wickets. Won the second T20 World Cup title.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner : Australia (vs New Zealand)

Australia beat their trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand by eight wickets in the final to win their maiden T20 World Cup title in the UAE. All-rounder Mitchell Marsh’s 50-ball 77 saw the Aussies chase down 173 with seven balls to spare and put their hands on the T20 trophy that had eluded them for the longest time. Pakistan captain Babar Azam (303) finished as the highest run-scorer in the T20 World Cup 2021, while Sri Lanka spinner Wanindu Hasranga topped the wickets list with 16 wickets in eight matches.

Last Words

Thanks For Staying With us. To get more Update news then please Visit TSportsBD.Com .

Back to top button